The CSPA Board of Directors is composed of patients, skin-health professionals, educators, and members of industry. The group meets face-to-face once a year at the Annual General Meeting and has regular conference calls throughout the year. Board members are elected and serve a two-year term. 

The board, which has representation from across Canada, sets the mandate for the organization and oversees staff to ensure financial and human resources are allocated appropriately to best serve Canadian skin patients.

The current Board of Directors:

 Barbara-Anne Hodge, Manitoba

Barbara-Anne Hodge is an Occupational Therapist who worked on the Burn Unit at the Health Sciences Centre in Winnipeg, MB for 27 years.  Inspired to support and nurture the burn survivor community, she helped found the Mamingwey Burn Survivor Society and has served as Chair since 2003.  She is also a founding member of the Canadian Burn Survivors Community and is currently on the board of the Winnipeg Firefighters Burn Fund Inc.  She has been involved with the Canadian Skin Patient Alliance since 2008 and is currently the President of the Board. 

Sandy Burton, Ontario

Sandy was diagnosed with Rare Skin Disease (Darier's) at 3 years old. She has experienced many flareups and experimental medications but feels she is a survivor.  She has an amazing Dermatologist and his Mother before him(Dr.Rikki Schachter and Dr,Dan Schachter) who she is so thankful to. She is honoured to be a Director on CSPA Board and is proud to be a voice in helping people with skin conditions.

Kyla LaHaye, Alberta

Besides being involved with the CSPA as a Board Member, Kyla is a full time stay at home mother to two little boys, as well as a skin patient.

Recently, Through specialized testing, Kyla was finally officially diagnosed with a rare disorder called Autoimmune Progesterone Dermatitis.  As well as having APD, she also tested positive for being photo sensitive/allergic to UVB light. An official diagnosis however for the photo sensitivity has not yet been given. She is closely working with her doctors and is just in the beginning process of being seen by medical genetics department in Calgary Alberta.

In her spare time, Kyla enjoys working out, traveling, singing and spending quality time with her family.

Munish Mohan, Ontario

Hansi Peiris, Quebec

Hansi Peiris is a Clinical Research Coordinator from Montreal, Quebec with a B.Sc. in Psychology from McGill University. She is passionate about dermatological research and advocating for skin patients. Hansi wishes to pursue her higher education to further advance clinical trial research while continuing to promote and protect the health of skin patients from across the globe.

 Julie Powers, Ontario

Julie Powers has her Post Graduate Diploma in Event Management, and currently is the Director of Member Relations and Events for a Private Fishing Club in Mt. Albert, Ontario. She is a co-founder of The Canadian Alopecia Areata Foundation, CANAAF, which has grown from a small group picnic in a park, to an organization with successful independence. When not volunteering on the CANAAF Board, or participating and facilitating the annual conference, she enjoys being with her 2 teenagers and her stubborn but loveable French bulldog.

Ashutosh Sharma, Quebec

Dr. Sharma is pursuing his post medical education with specialization in Family Medicine at McGill University. He possesses special interests in skin conditions with special emphasis on access to care for patients suffering from skin conditions. 

Previously, he has served as an executive director of various community organizations including India-Canada Organization and NACOI. 

He is committed to patient education and advocacy. We welcome Ashutosh to CSPA and appreciate his medical knowledge and dedication to the well-being of our patient population. 

Audrey Sto. Domingo

(coming soon)

Marianne Welsh

Marianne Welsh is an industrial relations professional, former teacher and researcher, and has also worked in community mental health. She holds degrees from Mount Allison University and Memorial University of Newfoundland. She has lived with Chronic Spontaneous Urticaria since the age of twelve although she didn’t receive a diagnosis until 1999. In her case, the condition is severe and refractory. Marianne lives in beautiful Dartmouth, Nova Scotia with her husband and their two cats. Areas of interest include advocacy and patient education. 

Executive Committee:  Hansi Peiris, Julie Powers, Munish Mohan, 


donateimage f

Envisagez de soutenir le travail de l'ACPS avec un don


Nous sommes fiers de collaborer avec l'Association canadienne des patients atteints de psoriasis

Pour en savoir plus sur l'ACPP et le travail qu'ils font pour les patients canadiens atteints de psoriasis et leurs familles.